Stardust Images Are Arriving on Earth (In the wrong order)

Comet Hunter's First Images on the Ground Comet Hunter's First Images on the Ground

"Mission controllers at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif., have begun receiving the first of 72 anticipated images of comet Tempel 1 taken by NASA's Stardust spacecraft."

NASA Reschedules Stardust-NExT Comet Flyby News Conference

"NASA has rescheduled a news conference covering images and early data from last night's Stardust-NExT comet flyby for today at 12:30 p.m. PST (3:30 p.m. EST). The news conference was originally scheduled for 10 a.m. PST (1 p.m. EST). The additional time will allow scientists to process and analyze data and images gathered when the spacecraft flew past Comet Tempel 1, with closest approach at a distance of 181 kilometers (112 miles). The mission team had expected the closest-approach images to be sent first. Instead, the images were downlinked in chronological order, starting with the most distant approach views."

  • submit to reddit


Loading



Humans to Mars Summit 2019
Military Space Situational Awareness April 1 - April 2, 2019, London, UK
MilSatCom USA conference will return to Washington from the 26th – 27th June 2019
Space Access Conference 2019
Mission To Methonē by Les Johnson - Baen Books



Join our mailing list




Commercialization: Monthly Archives

Monthly Archives

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Keith Cowing published on February 15, 2011 3:03 PM.

Bolden and Garver Talk To NASA Employees (Delayed Due To Fire Drill) was the previous entry in this blog.

Another PAO Press Release Title SNAFU is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.