Boeing Announces Commercial Crew Rocket Selection

"Boeing will announce the selection of its rocket for the Crew Space Transportation (CST)-100 on Thursday, August 4 at noon Eastern Time (11 a.m. Central Time, 9 a.m. Pacific Time). John Elbon, vice president and program manager of Boeing's Commercial Crew Programs will host the call, and he will be joined by a senior representative of the rocket company. They will make brief opening remarks and go into a question and answer portion. Three test flights will be flown with this rocket in 2015. With sufficient funding and selection for a development contract, Boeing expects to provide an operational capability to transport crews to and from the International Space Station in 2015."

Keith's note: Boeing has picked the Lockheed Martin Atlas V which is currently marketed by the Boeing/Lockheed Martin joint venture United Launch Alliance. Boeing's CST-100 crew spacecraft will be launched on an Atlas 5 - 412.

Boeing Selects Atlas V Rocket for Initial Commercial Crew Launches

"The Boeing Company [NYSE: BA] today announced it has selected the United Launch Alliance (ULA) Atlas V rocket to launch the Boeing Crew Space Transportation (CST)-100 spacecraft from Florida's Space Coast."

  • submit to reddit


Join our mailing list

Commercialization: Monthly Archives

Monthly Archives

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Keith Cowing published on August 4, 2011 11:54 AM.

NASA OIG: NASA's Stuff Is Getting Old was the previous entry in this blog.

MRO News Conference: Water Flowing on Mars is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.