GRAIL-A and -B Are In Lunar Orbit

First Of NASA'S Two Grail Spacecraft Enters Orbit Around Moon

"The first of two NASA spacecraft to study the moon in unprecedented detail has entered lunar orbit. NASA's Gravity Recovery And Interior Laboratory (GRAIL)-A spacecraft successfully completed its planned main engine burn at 2 p.m. PST (5 p.m. EST) today. As of 3 p.m. PST (6 p.m. EST), GRAIL-A is in a 56-mile (90-kilometer) by 5,197-mile (8,363-kilometer) orbit around the moon that takes approximately 11.5 hours to complete."

NASA's Twin Grail Spacecraft Reunite in Lunar Orbit

"The second of NASA's two Gravity Recovery And Interior Laboratory (GRAIL) spacecraft has successfully completed its planned main engine burn and is now in lunar orbit. Working together, GRAIL-A and GRAIL-B will study the moon as never before."

  • submit to reddit


Loading






Join our mailing list




Commercialization: Monthly Archives

Monthly Archives

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Keith Cowing published on January 1, 2012 7:00 PM.

OIG Finds Flaws in NASA's Real Property Master Planning Efforts was the previous entry in this blog.

The Ramparts of Aristarchus is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.