This is not a NASA Website. You might learn something. It's YOUR space agency. Get involved. Take it back. Make it work - for YOU.
Personnel News

Its Sure Nice to Be Senior Management at NASA

By Keith Cowing
December 21, 2005

A Little Something Extra, Government Executive

“It pays to be a rocket scientist. NASA gave the highest bonuses on average, with a typical award of $17,483.”

Editor’s note:The following information regarding 2005 Presidential Rank Awards can be found on OPM’s website:

“Each year, the President recognizes and celebrates a small group of career Senior Executives with the President’s Rank Award for exceptional long-term accomplishments. Beginning with awards granted in 2003, eligibility for this award is extended to other categories of high-performing senior career employees. Winners of this prestigious award are strong leaders, professionals, and scientists who achieve results and consistently demonstrate strength, integrity, industry, and a relentless commitment to excellence in public service.

There are two categories of rank awards: Distinguished and Meritorious. Award winners are chosen through a rigorous selection process. They are nominated by their agency heads, evaluated by boards of private citizens, and approved by the President. The evaluation criteria focus on leadership and results.

Distinguished rank recipients receive a lump-sum payment of 35 percent of their base pay; Meritorious rank recipients receive 20 percent of base pay. All recipients receive a framed certificate signed by the President.

NASA Portions

2005 Presidential Rank Awards For Distinguished Senior Professional

  • Heinz Erzberger

2005 Presidential Rank Awards For Distinguished Executive

  • William H. Gerstenmaier
  • Ralph R. Roe, Jr.
  • Edward J. Weiler

2005 Presidential Rank Awards For Meritorious Senior Professional

  • Charles A. Abner
  • Marc S. Allen
  • James B. Garvin
  • Peter A. Gnoffo
  • Mark R. Schoeberl
  • Anthony J. Strazisar

2005 Presidential Rank Awards For Meritorious Executive

  • James H. Carter
  • Frank J. Cepollina
  • Angela Phillips Diaz
  • Rex D. Geveden
  • John M. Hairston, Jr.
  • Charles E. Harris
  • Debra L. Johnson
  • Lucy V. Kranz
  • David C. Leestma
  • Wilson T. Lundy
  • Garry M. Lyles
  • Sally O’Neill Mauldin
  • Stan C. Newberry
  • Luat T. Nguyen
  • Thomas J. Paprocki
  • J. William Sikora
  • Christopher E. Singer
  • Robert E. Spearing
  • Michael T. Suffredini
  • Timothy M. Sullivan
  • David A. Throckmorton
  • James B. Waddell
  • Michael E. Wetmore
  • Gwendolyn V. Young

NASA Watch founder, Explorers Club Fellow, ex-NASA, Away Teams, Journalist, Space & Astrobiology, Lapsed climber.